# 453 – Top Gun

Top Gun

I love Top Gun! There is a big hint of sarcasm in Empires review though… so maybe not everyone does.
I have this love/hate relationship with Tom Cruise, I love to hate him or hate to love him, I can’t really decide. Val Kilmer though… I definitely have a love/love relationship with him.

I have to mention the gay-ness. There’s clearly some in-the-closet stuff happening here, right? Was it not ok to be gay in Top Guns time? Or was the director gay and just didn’t know it yet? I’m not sure of the reasons but it’s a thing that just randomly happens when you don’t expect it and it makes your eyebrows do that thing when you’re not really sure if what you just seen actually happened or of it was just your crazy imagination…

Apparently the soundtrack is pretty popular, I’m not so sure it can be called a ‘soundtrack’ though. From what I remember 2 songs got played over and over and over… Take My Breath Away and Danger Zone.

Now I’m sure this is what you’ve been waiting for……….. Top Gun is real!! Yay. The US Navy set up booths at the cinemas when Top Gun was playing to try and get recruits, and it worked!

Leave a comment