455 – Full Metal Jacket

Full Metal Jacket

 

Prepare yourself for a lot of yelling in the first half hour! I almost feel like I was being trained as a Marine…

The first thing that comes to mind is the soundtrack.. what an odd soundtrack! Did you ever think you would here the song ‘going to the chapel’ in a war movie? I think I know why… there are a few things in the movie that contradict (like the peace symbol and then ‘born to kill’ on the helmet) but I think it’s all on purpose. To try and emphasise the different sides of war or maybe the different feelings of men in the war.

That’s as deep as I’m going! I actually found it a little slow, it really dragged on and I started getting a bit bored. I had no sad feelings for this war movie, in the end I was just like ‘WOULD YOU JUST KILL HER ALREADY?!’… sorry, spoiler alert.

Something that did interest me… There were a few lines that a hooker said which I have definitely heard before. Is this movie where ‘me love you long-time’ comes from? I almost cracked up at that one.

On the scale from 1-10 I give it a 4.

Leave a Reply

