# 437 – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2009)

gdt

About 7 years ago, I walked into the book shop (Browzers… RIP) and asked the lady there to pick a book for me. I didn’t care what it was, I just needed something new. I’d decided it was probably time to stop re-reading Harry Potter. She pointed me to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo which was recently released and that’s what I ended up walking out with.

Absolutely amazing. I loved it. Slow to begin with, and partly because I had no idea what direction it was taking, I didn’t even really know what genre it was, but the detail and depth of the characters made it hard for me to put down.
Then the movie was released. I hadn’t quite reached the rape scene in the book when we watched the movie. It was then that I really got an idea of where the books were going and the general idea behind them. Thought the rape scene in the movie was bad? Try reading about it from the mind of a detailed author… It was lengthy, and horrifying. This event also runs through the whole series so don’t think it’s over yet.

So that was then. Now, re-watching it, doesn’t seem so intense. Maybe because I was prepared, maybe because I’m older, but I really enjoyed it. Even though you have to read subtitles. I have this new appreciation for foreign movies and the added feel they bring that you just can’t find with a streamline american movie. Obviously it can’t even compete with the book but that’s always the way.

And I’m sorry, I’ve gotta say it! How about that fricken girl power?! Lisbeth Salander should be every girls hero.

Definitely put it (or them; the whole trilogy) on the ‘to watch’ list. Hey, you might as well even add it to the ‘to read’ list!

Enjoy 🙂
E

 

Leave a Reply

