# 417 – The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen Of The Desert

p1

If you’ve been reading, you may remember me mentioning this movie in my ‘Wake In Fright’ review… Both filmed right here in my hometown, Broken Hill!
Well not all of it, unfortunately.
Small towns really have a way of never getting over monumental moments in their history, like Priscilla. Why would they? It’s a pride thing. I grew up knowing how important Priscilla is to Broken Hill but never watched it due to my age. So imagine my disappointment when I finally watched Priscilla and found out Broken Hill took up about 20 minutes of the whole movie. Sad face.

Truth be told, I didn’t watch this recently. A few months back Broken Hill put on an event ‘Broken Heel Festival’ to celebrate Priscilla’s 21st birthday. It was an amazing weekend long event that pushed me to finally watch it.

It was very entertaining, funny listening to the guys bitch and whinge at each other. They have some hilarious one liners, sometimes I understood them.. sometimes I didn’t. It does have its moments though, where the harsh reality of being a drag queen or transgender comes into play, which just makes it all the more loveable.

Most importantly, Priscilla put Australia on the map in a very new way and showed the world a positive view on the LGBT community, which was well overdue. Let’s hope to see more of it.

Enjoy!
E

P.S
Guy Pearce is sexy. Always. Good guy, bad guy, drag queen, doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

